I’ve added a page showing how I built the seed planter shown below.  At this point I haven’t actually tried it yet, but I think it will work.  If not, this post will probably disappear at some point.  The idea is that the bottom of the planter will be poked into the soil and a seed will be manually dropped into the funnel.   By pulling up on the lower handle a flipper will open at the bottom, letting the seed drop into the soil.  The white cup is to hold the seeds.  If I were clever, I would make a metering device that would drop a seed every time the handle is pulled.  Maybe someday.

Manual Seeder

Manual Seeder

To see the page, and more pictures, you can click here or in the Pages box to the right.

Update June 21, 2009:  The seeder actually works really well.  It choked a little on some big pumpkin seeds, because they got caught on one of the two small screws that go through the drop pipe.  Some smaller squash seeds went through as nicely as you please, and I did a few hundred sunflower seeds with only one or two hangups.  And I didn’t have to bend over!!  I think this is a keeper.

