It’s not much, but it’s a start.

Two trays so far

Two trays so far

There are twenty-two 5-gallon water-filled pails wrapped in garbage bags to act as heat collectors.  Thanks to Nell for the garbage bag idea.  It’s 45 F outside right now and brightly sunny.   I have the top half of the outside door open , and it’s still 90 F inside the greenhouse at shelf level.  The tray on the floor has dianthus seeds planted and the soil temp in it is about 70 F, which is a little warm for those seeds according to what I have read, but what can I do?   I guess I could set the tray out in the snow.

The tray on top of the buckets on the right has some foxglove seedlings that are close to two weeks old.  I have them under the shelf to shield them from the sun a bit, as I started the little guys under lights and they are probably pretty tender.  In fact, I should probably go move them back inside.  Hold on a minute, OK? …

I’m back now.  Here’s what they look like.

Digitalis Camelot

Digitalis Camelot

I also have a few spinach plants growing in a bucket to see if we can get some early greens to put in our salads.  They’re also about two weeks old.

Spinach

Spinach

It may be only a start, but after a long cold winter it feels great to have green plants again, not to mention ninety degrees.

